The university remains open, with emergency management protocols activated and operational modifications and precautions in place. Read the latest updates.

Student Affairs COVID-19 Response.

Careers For Impact

You can make a living while making a difference. Learn what types of organizations and professional roles are out there, and hear relatable, valuable career advice from those who've gone before you. Browse the program offerings below and click "view program" next to each one to begin watching!

App Alumni abound in these sessions - Someday, this could be you!

NOTE: All professionals have welcomed interaction and questions so reach out to make a personal connection! (Emails below)

Science for Change

Program 1 (view program)
What do water, energy, and large-scale health patterns have in common? Three scientists (all App alums!) share the interconnected nature of complex problems and what matters along your career path...and in life.

Josh Brooks

Josh Brooks ('14,'16)
Rocky Mountain Institute
brooksjoshuad@gmail.com

Charlotte Baker

Charlotte Baker ('05)
Epidemiology Dept (VA Tech)
bakerc@vt.edu

Courtney Cooper

Courtney Cooper ('16)
Earth & Environment Systems Insitute / Resilient Communities Initiative
cfc5786@psu.edu

Program 2 (view program)
3 mission-driven professionals discuss the role their organization has in advancing science through natural discovery/exploration, food systems, and new technologies. An educational specialist and two human resources professionals share why mission and company culture matters.

Fay Gore

Fay Gore
National Geographic
cgore@ngs.org

Ashley Cooke

Ashley Cooke
Unifi
acooke@unifi.com

Zach Miller

Zach Miller
AppHarvest
zach.miller@appharvest.com

Sustainable Business and Social Entrepreneurship

Program 1 (view program)
Profit + Passion is the name of the game for these 3 savvy professionals who explain why meeting the bottom line serves to advance your mission. Hear 3 "crooked paths" that led to career introspection, and how work ethic can compensate for lack of experience.

Sadrah Schadel

Sadrah Schadel
No Evil Foods
sadrah@noevilfoods.com

Matt Godfrey

Matt Godfrey ('98)
Small Business Technology & Development Center / Waypoint Accelerator
mgodfrey@sbtdc.org

Melissa Vega

Melissa Vega ('08)
R+M Agency
melissa@rmagency.com

Program 2 (view program)
True sustainability is a purposeful (yet almost impossible) endeavor requiring constant reflection and determination. 4 voices contribute to the thoughtful views expressed, and how reading, letting go, and failure can propel you forward.

April Stewart Kappler

April Stewart Kappler ('05)
Better Cotton Initiative
kappler.april@gmail.com

Alisa Herr

Alisa Herr ('06)
Unity Web Agency
alisa@unitymakes.us

Nadeli Yaziyo

Nadeli Yaziyo
Rofhiwa Books
info@rofhiwabooks.com

Boitumelo (Beverly) Makhubele

Boitumelo (Beverly) Makhubele
Rofhiwa Books
info@rofhiwabooks.com

Social Impact and Advocacy

Program 1 (view program)
Advocacy stems from multiple sources of passion and purpose as evidenced by 3 amazing professionals (all App alums!) - all of whom note the importance of mentors in their lives, and why simply "reaching out" and expanding your network can prove fruitful.

Jamarl Clark

Jamarl Clark ('07)
WeINSPIRE
jamarl@weinspiremovement.org

Kate Douglass

Kate Douglass ('09)
Dept of Rural Health, Farmworker Health Program (NC Dept of Health & Human Services)
kcdouglass10@gmail.com

Sam Williams

Sam Williams ('12)
US Equal Opportunity Employment Commission
samuelwh.unc@gmail.com

Program 2 (view program)
This lineup of social impact professionals underscore the importance of listening to the communities being served in advocacy work, and offer words of encouragement for starting out and "finding your way."

Cannon Leavelle

Cannon Leavelle ('06)
Office of the National Coordinator for Health IT (US Dept of Health & Human Services)
cannonleavelle@gmail.com

Amanda Jacobson

Amanda Jacobson ('14)
United Way Suncoast
jacobsonam2@gmail.com

Raphael Ramazani

Raphael Ramazani
World Relief Triad
khill@wr.org